BCS Championship Winners
Statistic Verification
NCAA College Football
Research Date: 12.11.2013
The BCS National Championship Game, or BCS National Championship, is the final bowl game of the annual Bowl Championship Series (BCS) and is intended by the organizers of the BCS to determine the U.S. national champion of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly known as NCAA Division I-A). The participants are the two highest-ranked teams in the BCS standings at the end of the regular college football season, currently (until the end of the current BCS television contracts in 2013) determined by averaging the results of the final weekly USA Today Coaches’ Poll, Harris Interactive Poll of media, former players and coaches, and the average of six participating computer rankings.
Year Winning Team Losing Team Site MVP
2012 2 Alabama
(SEC) Champs
42 1 Notre Dame
14 Sun Life Stadium
Miami Gardens, Florida
Eddie Lacy (offense)
C.J. Mosley (defense)
2011 2 Alabama
21 1 LSU
(SEC) Champs
0 Mercedes-Benz Superdome
New Orleans, Louisiana
AJ McCarron (offense)
Courtney Upshaw (defense)
2010 1 Auburn
(SEC) Champs
22 2 Oregon
(Pac-10) Champs
19 University of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Arizona
Michael Dyer (offense)
Nick Fairley (defense)
2009 1 Alabama
(SEC) Champs
37 2 Texas
(Big 12) Champs
21 Rose Bowl
Pasadena, California
Mark Ingram (offense)
Marcell Dareus (defense)
2008 2 Florida
(SEC) Champs
24 1 Oklahoma
(Big 12) Champs
14 Dolphin Stadium
Miami Gardens, Florida
Tim Tebow (offense)
Carlos Dunlap (defense)
2007 2 LSU
(SEC) Champs
38 1 Ohio State
(Big Ten) Champs
24 Louisiana Superdome
New Orleans, Louisiana
Matt Flynn (offense)
Ricky Jean-Francois(defense)
2006 2 Florida
(SEC) Champs
41 1 Ohio State
(Big Ten) Champs
14 University of Phoenix Stadium
Glendale, Arizona
Chris Leak (offense)
Derrick Harvey (defense)
2005 2 Texas
(Big 12) Champs
41 1 USC
(Pac-10) Champs
38 Rose Bowl Stadium
Pasadena, California
Vince Young (offense)
Michael Huff (defense)
2004 1 USC (Vacated)
(Pac-10) Champs
55 2 Oklahoma
(Big 12) Champs
19 Pro Player Stadium
Miami Gardens, Florida
Matt Leinart
2003 2 LSU
(SEC) Champs
21 1 Oklahoma
(Big 12) Runner-Up
14 Louisiana Superdome
New Orleans, Louisiana
Justin Vincent
2002 2 Ohio State
(Big Ten) Co-Champs
31 1 Miami (Florida)
(Big East) Champs
24 Sun Devil Stadium
Tempe, Arizona
Craig Krenzel
Mike Doss
2001 1 Miami (Florida)
(Big East) Champs
37 2 Nebraska
(Big 12) Div. Co-Champs
14 Rose Bowl
Pasadena, California
Ken Dorsey
Andre Johnson
2000 1 Oklahoma
(Big 12) Champs
13 2 Florida State
(ACC) Champs
2 Pro Player Stadium
Miami, Florida
Torrance Marshall
1999 1 Florida State
(ACC) Champs
46 2 Virginia Tech
(Big East) Champs
29 Louisiana Superdome
New Orleans, Louisiana
Peter Warrick
1998 1 Tennessee
(SEC) Champs
23 2 Florida State
(ACC) Co-Champs
16 Sun Devil Stadium
Tempe, Arizona
Peerless Price
Dwayne Goodrich
BCS Records
Team Performance vs. Opponent BCS Game Year
Most points scored 55, USC vs. Oklahoma 2005
Fewest points allowed 0, Alabama vs. LSU 2012
First downs 30, Texas vs. USC 2006
Rushing yards 289, Texas (36 att.) vs. USC 2006
Passing yards 374, Oregon vs. Auburn 2011
Total yards 556, Texas (289 rush, 267 pass) vs. USC 2006
Total plays 85, Auburn vs. Oregon 2011
Individual Performance, Team vs. Opponent BCS Game Year
Total offense 467, Vince Young, Texas (267 pass, 200 rush) vs. USC 2006
Rushing yards 200, Vince Young (QB), Texas (19 att.) vs. USC 2006
Rushing TDs 3, Vince Young (QB), Texas vs. USC 2006
Passing yards 363, Darron Thomas, Oregon vs. Auburn (28-41-2, 2 TD) 2011
Passing TDs 5, Matt Leinart, USC vs. Oklahoma 2005
Receptions 11, Kellen Winslow Jr., Miami vs. Ohio State (122 yards, 1 TD) 2003
Receiving yards (tie) 199, Peerless Price, Tennessee vs. Florida State (4 rec., 1 TD) 1999
Receiving yards (tie) 199, Andre Johnson, Miami vs. Nebraska (7 rec., 2 TD) 2002
Receiving TDs 3, Steve Smith, USC vs. Oklahoma 2005
Field goals 5, Jeremy Shelley, Alabama vs. LSU 2012
Tackles 18, James Laurinaitis, Ohio State vs. LSU 2008
Sacks 3, Derrick Harvey, Florida vs. Ohio State 2007
Interceptions 2, Sean Taylor, Miami vs. Ohio State 2003
Long Plays Performance, Team vs. Opponent BCS Game Year
Touchdown run 65, Chris "Beanie" Wells, Ohio State vs. LSU 2008
Touchdown pass 79, Tee Martin to Peerless Price, Tennessee vs. Florida State 1999
Kickoff return 93, Ted Ginn Jr., Ohio State vs. Florida (TD) 2007
Punt return 71, DeJuan Groce, Nebraska vs. Miami (TD) 2002
Interception return 54, Dwayne Goodrich, Tennessee vs. Florida State (TD) 1999
Punt 63, A.J. Trapasso, Ohio State vs. LSU 2008
Field goal 46, David Pino, Texas vs. USC 2006
Pass 81, Darron Thomas to Jeff Maehl, Oregon vs. Auburn 2011

2012 bcs championship winners winner ? who won the last super bowl ? when was the firstbcs championship ? where was the last bcs championship played ? college bcs championship ? which college has won the most bcs championship what team hasn’t ever won a bcs championship bowl game winner ? who won the superbowl in 1991234567890 201234567890 ? what teams played in the first ever bcs championship ? how are the bcs teams picked chosen ?

Can't find the statistic you're looking for? Search our partner Statista - The Statistics Portal

Related Statistics: